none
How to set VID and PID for USB-OTG? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to WINCE programming and Thank you very much for any reply.

I am not able to set VID and PID for USB-OTG driver.

We are using WINCE600. I have added USB-OTG BSP and changed VID ,PID in platform.reg file.

Regards,

Shiva

Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:38 PM

All replies

• I don't have any USB-OTG experience, but when someone says that they changed the registry via platform.reg and the change doesn't appear to have been used, I always suspect one of the following:

1. You changed the wrong copy of platform.reg.  This should be in your platform folder \platform\<yourplatform>\files.  That's the one you changed?

2. To get that change actually built into the OS, you have to build the OS.  Check the copy of reginit.ini that the build system placed in your flat release folder and see if your changes are there.  This should be a composite file containing all of the registry settings for your device, including platform.reg.

3. If the flat release folder has the updated settings, the most-likely problem is that you have some form of persistent registry on your target device and you are still using the last-saved registry, not the changed one in your last nk.bin/nk.nb0.  If that's the case, the Remote Registry Editor should show the old registry values on your device.  Do whatever you do on your system to use the default registry in the OS image, not the saved registry.

Paul T.

• Marked as answer by Shiva Manda Thursday, September 16, 2010 9:39 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by Shiva Manda Thursday, September 16, 2010 9:39 AM
    Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:47 PM
  • I also do not have experience with it, but we can give you some directions.

Could you clarify the following points ?

- Do you have a main device and you would like to add support to a new USB-OTG device ?

- Or would you like to add an add-on card or similar to have USB-OTG interface in your main device ?