Internal server error cause by database connection in web.config file RRS feed

• Question

• User507642527 posted

Hi all,

I'm having an issue where the page I'm trying to create on Azure is simply showing the text: "The page cannot be displayed because an internal server error has occurred." I'm using the connection string provided by Azure with the only change being to the username and password. If I delete the connectionStrings block the page loads fine.

Could somebody verify if I'm structuring the web.config file correctly? A Microsoft site I found regarding this showed everything inside the <connectionStrings> tags but didn't show where in the file they belong. I'm also not sure if the username and password are to be encapsulated in quotes or not.

Cheers - It's my first time trying to do this.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<configuration>    
     <connectionStrings>
       <add name="PWDB"; connectionString="Server=tcp:prodwisedata.database.windows.net,1433;Initial Catalog=ProdWiseData;Persist Security Info=False;User ID='user';Password='password';MultipleActiveResultSets=False;Encrypt=True;TrustServerCertificate=False;Connection Timeout=30;"/>
     </connectionStrings>
      <system.web>
        <compilation debug="true" targetFramework="4.0" />
        <customErrors mode="Off"/>

</system.web>

</configuration>

Saturday, January 28, 2017 12:30 PM

Answers

• User753101303 posted

Hi,

Remove the extra ; after the name attribute. If you have single quotes around the user name and password in your real connection string, remove them.

If the config file is correct but the connection string is not, you should have a server side exception that should give some details (for example if the connection string is correct but your user id/password is wrong). It's easier to see fist what is the exact error you have rather than looking at your app and wondering which error it could cause.