none
Problem to write access HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video RRS feed

• Question

• First of all, I did search the entire forum but didn't find useful answer can solve my problem.

Here is my development tools and test environment information.

• Visual Studio 2013 with Update 3
    • Windows Form desktop application with .NET Framework v2.0
    • The language I am using is C#
    • I tested with both Windows 8.1 and Windows 7 and run into same problem

I am a graphics driver engineer and want to develop some tools for internal usage. .NET Framework give me the fastest way to create a decent GUI tool and this is reason why I choose it.

As I am working with graphics driver, I need update the keys under "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video".

However, I run into the problem with the following line of code,

RegistryKey theVideoKey = Registry.LocalMachine.CreateSubKey(theKeyStr);

The error message is:

An unhandled exception of type 'System.UnauthorizedAccessException' occurred in mscorlib.dll

Additional information: Access to the registry key 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{????}\0000' is denied.

I tried everything I think could be useful found on the forum, such as "run as Adminitrator" but it doesn't work. Please help.

Monday, October 20, 2014 9:11 AM

Answers

• Hello Zhengsan,

>>Should I close this thread and start a new one?

This is recommended so that if others read this thread, they would not feel confused.

>>Now the question becomes how I can take over the owner and change access right of the specific registry key in .NET.

In my opinion, this issue is more related with the windows client and suggest that you could post it to the more appropriate forum as the one mentioned in my last reply. I think there are not .net libraries could improve the “0000” permission.

Regards.