none
Unable to start any sevices on APP server RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I am one of two SP Farm Admins in my organization, but I'm not a SharePoint expert (yet). We've recently started seeing some instability, and other issues, with one of our APP servers in our Production farm. We are using SharePoint 2013 Enterprise version and our farm contains 3 APP servers (one of which is a Search server), 2 WFE servers, 1 clustered SQL instance (2 sql servers in the cluster), 1 OWA server, and 1 WFM server.

On one of our APP servers we have been unable to start ANY service from the Services On Server screen in Central Admin. Currently, our SharePoint Server Search service is stuck on Starting and no matter what we try it will not fully Start OR Stop. We have tried stopping the service manually via PowerShell and we keep getting a message that it's "Unprovisioning" but it never fully stops. We've since tried starting other services on this server and everything we've tried (Claims to Windows Token Service, Excel Services, Visio Graphics Service, etc.) just gets hung on "starting" until we manually unprovision them via powershell.

On this same server, the SharePoint Tracing Service and the SharePoint Host Controller service keeps stopping. We will go into Services.msc on the server and start each one and it will show "running" for a while, then it will stop and it's status gets changed to "Disabled." We haven't been able to keep these two services running for more than 30 minutes at a time. When looking at Services.msc on the server it shows the "SharePoint Server Search 15" service is running. However, if you look at Services On Server in Central Admin, it's hung on "starting." It's almost like SharePoint is not fully recognizing the status of the service, even though the server thinks it's running.