none
I'm not a Developer, Just an Average User - Do I even Need .NET? RRS feed

• Question

• I was helping a friend get some MS updates for her system and noticed that she had several versions of .NET on her computer: 1.1, 2.0, & 3.0, along with Service Pack 1 for 2.0 & 3.0 (1 SP each).  I uninstalled the older versions of .NET and then downloaded & installed v3.5, assuming that the latest version would be the "best" and most secure/stable.  I then started to ponder whether she (or I) even needed .NET at all.  We are both average computer users and mostly like to surf the web etc.  We're not developers by any means.  What are the advantages of having .NET for us, if any?  If my friend should keep v3.5 can she uninstall the Service Packs for versions 2.0 & 3.0 (these are now uninstalled)?  Thank you.

Wednesday, January 23, 2008 3:36 PM

Answers

• Hi

Actually, .NET Framework 1.1 and .NET Framework 2.0 or later use two different core runtime(.NET Framework 1.1 uses CLR v1.1 while .NET Framework 2.0/3.0/3.5 use CLR v2.0)

One doesn't need to worry about which version of .NET Framework there as an average user, no stability concern, no security concern (in fact, as an experienced/advanced user, one could configure Code Access Security(CAS) in .NET Framework 1.1/2.0 Configuration in Control Panel, if .NET Framework installed)

When one gets .NET 1.1 application run on the machine, it requires .NET Framework 1.1 installed and .NET 2.0/3.0/3.5 Framework need compatible version of .NET Framework installed and they work side by side.

And .NET Framework 3.5 regard .NET Framework 2.0/3.0 sp1 as prerequisites, so one cannot keep 3.5 without these sp1s.

By the way, Vista or late Windows is with .NET 3.0 as one of its components.

All in all, as average users, we don't need to care much about this, but if you are more than just users as .NET developers, you must take different deployment scenarios into consideration.