none
'Cookie Cutter' through a form RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I have looked around but wasn't able to find anything. I have a form that I am filling the screen with. The form is set to 30% Opacity. On the form I have added a rectangle that I can resize. What I need to achieve is for the area INSIDE the rectangle to look through the form to the main screen contents behind very much like a cookie cutter or a hole in the form so to speak.

Is this possible? I'm needing to take a screenshot of the contents behind using the rectangle as a frame

Cheers

Nacho

Nacho is the derivative of Nigel - True fact! I am self taught in VB.Net. 50% of the time, I am right 100% of the time!

Sunday, November 5, 2017 7:31 AM

Answers

• Hi again

It seems to be working ok with a small exception. In the earlier version, the rectangle was resized by selecting any of the grips. In this version, its very hard to select grip to resize it. My mousemove event is picking up when the mouse is over the grip and the rectangle but its a hit and miss as to whether the rectangle moves. it takes about 3 or 4 attempts to select the rectangle.

Also

Is there a way to dispose of the rectangle when moving? In your earlier version, the rectangle disappeared in the mousemove event then reappeared when the moving stopped. I cant see how that worked in the code version you provided. The result im getting is the orange rectangle and grips appearing in the snapshot image... I was hoping for a visible method but there isnt one...

Other than that, its working sweet :)

Cheers

Nacho is the derivative of Nigel - True fact! I am self taught in VB.Net. 50% of the time, I am right 100% of the time!

Nacho,

"I had to add the Method CaptureFormRect() from a previous sample as when i tried to get the bmp from the rectangle, all i could get was the background image."