video call application - is it possible? how to start? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I would like to include a video call/video chat functionality for my Windows Store app. The background for this: The user should have the opportunity to video chat with a support employee. 

The most important question for me is how you would implement such a functionality in your app. I have no knowledge in this field at all. Are there third party tools that I can use? I've read about the Red5 Media Server and about fluourine fx but I don't think that I can use them for my Windows Store project. One requirement for the video chat is, that there might be zero to many support members. There are also zero to many users that might call at the same time.

Secondly, I am confused about the Windows Store certification requirements. May I develop a WPF software for the support members that handles the incoming requests, or do I have to add the functionalities for the support members in the Windows Store app as well?

Regards, Johann

Monday, August 19, 2013 12:50 PM

Answers

• For what you describe you probably want a turnkey system rather than writing your own. A fully featured chat server will be fairly complicated if you aren't familiar with the subject.

For the client side in the Windows Store app there is a simple peer-to-peer video chat sample: Real-time communication sample (Windows 8) . This will demonstrate the client side which would be written as a Windows Store app, but not the server you'd need for what you describe.

I'm not sure what you mean by support members. WPF is not supported in a Windows Store app and wouldn't be appropriate for the server side of an app.

--Rob

Monday, August 19, 2013 2:38 PM

All replies

• For what you describe you probably want a turnkey system rather than writing your own. A fully featured chat server will be fairly complicated if you aren't familiar with the subject.