Dimension Design For Product which has assortment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I have a question about a specific dimension design. I'm building cubes for a textile company and I'm new to design. They sell t-shirts, jeans etc. let say like Levi's. There were dimensions related to product in the previous design. The company analyze the product in a breakdown like Brand,Category,Gender,AgeGroup,Style,Material,Type etc. Every products can be described in configuration, color, size, product id. There can be product id's in products table multiple times. But there can not be multiple rows which refers to same config,color,size,product.

There was dimensions for Brand,Category,Gender etc. I have inner joined all tables and got a view which shows records; color, config,size,product, brand and all the other attributes. And made a standalone dimension named product with a primary key like color + config + productid + size As AsortmentKey. I have build the hierarchies which would be commonly used.

Then I said what if they want to use something which not fits the existing hierarchies like Config,Color,Brand. At this point I have been inspired by the Time dimension in Adventureworks. I have made two attributes for each column. One for using in hierarchies (for example Category has key columns as BrandId,CategoryId and Categories has only have CategoryId as key). With this design I had around 350k rows which becomes harder to process then before.