Binding an Entity Data Source to a Subform in ReportViewer RRS feed

• Question

• User1014298547 posted

I'm still very new at using Reporting Services in ASP.NET.

As near as I can tell, there seems to be no properties or events in the ReportViewer dealing with subreports. Is this correct? If so, is it true that the only way to set a datasource for a subreport in ReportViewer is by using a custom event handler in the code behind of a web form?

I have found several examples of how to do this using DataSets, but I have not found any using the Entity Framework. Can anyone explain to me how this can be done or where I can find a tutorial about how to do it?

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 8:20 PM

Answers

• User1014298547 posted

I finally managed to get this to work. He's how I did it in case anyone else has this problem. I basically used DataSets with ObjectDataSources instead of Entities with EntityDataSources. Apparently you cannot use subreports with EntityDataSources??? If someone can accomplish this with Entities, please reply and let me know how you did it!

I also had to make some changes in the code behind that links the subreport datasource in the FormView. Orginally I was adding the SubreportProcessingHandler only when the dropdown had no value. Dumb mistake! Of course it needed to be added when a value in the dropdown was selected, not the other way around.

Finally another problem I ran into was that the report was loading very slowly. This was because I was not filtering the subreport data with the dropdown.

Here's the revised code:

ASP Page:

<%@ Page Title="" Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/Site.master" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="SummeryReportOutBrief.aspx.cs" Inherits="Secured_Reports_SummeryReportOutBriefAll" %>
    <%@ Register assembly="Microsoft.ReportViewer.WebForms, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" namespace="Microsoft.Reporting.WebForms" tagprefix="rsweb" %>