none
Welcome to the Report Controls Forum! RRS feed

All replies

• Thanks Brian but where can i find the reference documentation. The docs you posted say to do a search on Microsoft.Reporting.WinForms | WebForms but there is no search functionality (that i can find) in the whidbey toc

Thanks
    Friday, August 5, 2005 8:09 PM
  • Brian (and veryone who can help) - Greetings!  I am a complete novice trying to learn the development capabilities of the 2005 Express versions.  May be you can help...  I installed 2005 Server Express, and then learned about 2005 SQL Evaluation edition.  The main interest is how to develop report models, reports, etc.  I installed the Evaluation version while keeping the Express SQL, and was trying to find the Business Intelligence Development Studio--mentioned in every sample loaded with the SQL set up.  Very unsuccessfully.  Does SQL Server install Business Intelligence Development Studio?  Do I need a complete Studio installed?   I can certainly see the Express editions do not provide Business Intelligence Development Studio options.  I am considering complete uninstall of both SQL 2005 Evaluation, and SQL Express to give it a try with the fresh download.  Am I just wasting my time, and all I really need is a complete Visual Studio?  If you can help with this, I would SO much appreciate it.

Vlad

Friday, February 17, 2006 2:01 PM
  • Vlad:

There's a Reporting Services add-on for Visual Web Designer Express, though I'm not sure if that'll let you design reports or not.  Might be worth a look.  It'll suck to load two different tools to design reports and their consuming applications, but it might get you going.

Also look at learn2asp.net... they're giving away NFR copies of VS.Net 2005 Standard for watching some webcasts, and the webcasts are pretty good.  Mine hasn't arrived yet, but I'm using C# Express in the meantime at home.

Monday, March 27, 2006 2:17 PM
  • Hi vladtch,