Problems with Relationships in 2 tables (originally excel files)..... RRS feed

• Question

• I am pretty new to the PowerPivot world and I have a little problem.  I have 2 excel files.  I have imported both files into PowerPivot and a relationship was established.  The 2 data files are titled Emails and ExecBu and I am trying to retreive the emails of the Execs.  The data is set up is as follows:

Emails                                                                                     ExecBu

PERNR                      Email                                                                PERNR                  Name

1001                      joeblack@work.com                                      1111                       Ed Green

1002                      donred@work.com                                        1222                       Mike Smith

1111                      edgreen@work.com                                      1333                       Eric Small

1222                      mikesmith@work.com 

1333                      ericsmall@work.com

1334                       tinafey@work.com

1336                       roypoindexter@work.com

1385                       garygrey@work.com     

I had to manually create a relationship using PERNR and I did get the relaionship icon on both PERNR columns from both tables.  When I run a flat pivot table I keep getting the wrong result.  I place the Names in the row labels and when I put the email under the row label I get the entire listing of emails as opposed to only seeing the emails of the Executives.  All names and email addresses were made up for this exercise. Can someone assist me ?

Thursday, March 29, 2012 9:10 PM

Answers

• Figured out your problem: You have PERNR defined as "Decimal Number" data type in EmployeeName table and "Text" in EmailAddress table. Once I change them both to WholeNumber data type, your email address then show up fine.