Issues Creating Mathematical Program (Report Generation) RRS feed

• Question

• Okay, let me start here by giving some background.  I am a structural engineer.  My goal is to create a GUI/Form that I can input some basic loading, material and size information and have the program perform the calculations and/or design of various elements, following the load paths down, and ultimately creating a professional set of calculations for submittal to whatever authority is requiring them.  

I'm not well versed in programming.  I've created some fairly fancy/extensive excel spreadsheets with VBA involved, but that is about it. 

That being said, my initial plans here are to design everything using VB.NET (express edition) since I know how to create forms/GUIs and some amount of basic programming in VB already. 

However, I’ve hit a few snags.

The first module I need to create involves building a number of equations, then running those equations through bounded integrals. VB does not do integrals - I know... I can use MathCad to solve them generically, but the result is several pages long… not ideal.  I’ve done a few days of research in how to solve this, and am coming up empty.  I’m not interested in developing my own numerical solutions, as the integrals and formulas are complicated enough that most such solutions either won’t work accurately or would result in coding lengthy enough that I might as well put the several-page algebraic solution in.  I’ve found that there are a few packages in Python (i.e. free) that have these functions built in – can I somehow use the Python Functions in VB? If I do, will that create issues if I try to install the app on another computer?  Are there any canned integration functions that I can use in VB (free…) ?

I do find that there are some free library’s for java and C listed on

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_numerical_analysis_software