none
How to control parallel port and test RRS feed

• Question

• I have no experience in parallel port control.

Can I get some sample source code and explanation?

And my development PC is laptop and doesn't have a parallel port and no device to test with.

Is there any way to test with?(for example, virtual device which have a parallel port)

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 2:24 PM

All replies

• .NET does not support working with parallel ports. You'll need to use a third party library. That library will ultimately dictate how you write the code and how you might go about testing it. Unfortunately I don't know of any libraries since I don't use parallel ports but you should be able to google for Parallel Port C# and get some more information.

Michael Taylor http://www.michaeltaylorp3.net

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 6:04 PM
  • I'm curious to know what is leading you down this path.  Parallel ports have essentially disappeared from modern computers, and for good reason.  In virtually every case, you would be better served by using USB instead.  There are USB experimenter's kits that will allow you to do anything you could do with a parallel port in a standard, well-defined, plug-and-play way.

Tim Roberts | Driver MVP Emeritus | Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 9:19 PM