none
Problem in constructing custom column in L2E RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I am new to ado.net entity framework. I generally write SQL queries and now i start learning entity framework. I am facing little problem in constructing custom column in entity framework which i can write easily in simple SQL query. so can anyone please correct or replace my SQL query to L2E query. Please see code in bold lines.

SELECT TOP(20) Id, ProductId, ProductName,  'detail.aspx?pid=' + cast(Id as nvarchar(20)) + '&cid=' + CategoryId + '&Cn=' + CategoryName AS detail FROM Products WHERE NewArrivals = 1

Please see the above bold line where i am unable to convert into entity framework L2E and try to make similar in the same way below which is not correct. So can anyone help to write the above SQL query in form of L2E ???

Dim db As New dbRohiModel.dbRohiEntities
            Dim MyProducts = From cs In db.Products Where cs.NewArrivals = 1 _
                                     Select cs.Id, cs.ProductId, cs.ProductName, cs.SmallImagePath, 'detail.aspx?pid=' + cast(Id as nvarchar(20)) + '&cid=' + CategoryId + '&Cn=' + CategoryName AS detail

Thanks in advance.

• Edited by Rauf Abid Friday, March 8, 2013 9:24 AM
    Friday, March 8, 2013 7:05 AM

Answers

• Hi,

The way that LINQ to Entities works is that it takes a LINQ expression written in your language, VB in this case, and eventually converts the expression tree from that LINQ statement into SQL for whichever type of database you are working with.

Unfortunately, it looks like VB is generating an expression tree that EF doesn't know how to handle. Specifically, it doesn't know how to convert the overload of Concatenate that takes an array of strings. There are 3 ways I can think of at the moment that you could work around this.

The first is to split up the concatenate so that each call to the function has fewer parameters, so that it will use an overload that EF can handle.

It would look like this: