Mirroring - Transaction Log File Size Problem RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone ,

first of all i'll introduce myself, this is my first post ever in this website, which was really helpfull for other topics .

i am a system engineer who found himself in a "Forced" DBA position , without entering lot in details, i have this problem and i need some Help if possible

I have a production SQl server environment , with Two Databases all mirrored 

When i discovered the environment, i found that the Transaction Log File for one of the Databases have reached 103Gb , while its Database Size is 84Gb.

I already found a  maintenance plan that backup the Tlog more frequently , i then tried to shrink the File but it give me just 300 Mb as a free space (0%), i did some digging and found that because o f a mirroring problem the Tlog was somehow locked , i looked in the secondary server(mirrored one) and found that the disk partition containing the mirrored Tlog was full .

is it because of the replication/mirroring problem that the Tlog in the main server is getting bigger ?

thank you in advance for your help , and sorry my english isn't my main/native language.

Saturday, February 10, 2018 7:51 PM

All replies

• Hi everyone ,

first of all i'll introduce myself, this is my first post ever in this website, which was really helpfull for other topics .

i am a system engineer who found himself in a "Forced" DBA position , without entering lot in details, i have this problem and i need some Help if possible

I have a production SQl server environment , with Two Databases all mirrored 

When i discovered the environment, i found that the Transaction Log File for one of the Databases have reached 103Gb , while its Database Size is 84Gb.