none
Entity Framework Code First update dabase on client computer RRS feed

• Question

• Hope I'm posting this in the right forum (first post). I did some searching but got really confused. Mind you, I'm a beginner with VS / EF / MSSQL

I'm developing a Windows Desktop app using MSSQL and Entity Framework.

Working on my dev computer using the code first approach with migrations and updating the database is no problem (using the console).

But in the future the app will be running on client computers. How do I update the database on the client computer? Can I run the migrations from within the application exe file? 

Also is this a good approach or not?

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 1:56 PM

Answers

• Hi rbojanssen,

>>But in the future the app will be running on client computers. How do I update the database on the client computer? Can I run the migrations from within the application exe file? 

If dev machine and client machine use different MSSQL. A simple way is that you backup database from your dev computer and restore on your client computer without any migration operation.

If you want to migration special version, there are two way to achieve it.

1. you could write a button event and use the dbmigrator class from within your code. for more information, please refer to:

https://romiller.com/2012/02/09/running-scripting-migrations-from-code/

2. use migrate.exe which is handy for running them in a build step. for more information, please refer to:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/data/jj618307.aspx

Best regards,

Zhanglong

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by rbojanssen Thursday, March 29, 2018 6:57 AM
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 2:05 AM
  • Hello,