Using C# Class Generated using xsd.exe RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All,

I am new to serialisation, and indeed XML. I have been provided an .xsd (XML Schema file) and I am required to provide an .xml data file which conforms to this schema. The data I have is stored and acessed via SQL Server, so I wish to transfer/copy my data from an SQL Server database (.mdf file) to an .xml file according to the provided schema. I wish to do this in C# and I have so far managed to create a C# class from the .xsd schema using the xsd.exe tool. The issue is that I have no idea how to use the created C# class, can anyone point me to an example of this? I know serialisation comes in to this but I am unsure as to how to access/adopt the schema's original structure?

Any help would be most appreciated.

Camus

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" - Einstein
    Tuesday, June 14, 2011 1:45 PM

Answers

• Hi Camuvingian,

Welcome to the MSDN Forum.

I'd like to suggest that you first check out thus two official knowledge bases from MSDN Library:Serialize Method (XmlWriter, Object) & Deserialize Method (XmlReader). You may find that the main parts of them come down to the two samples provided. After reading them, I think you'll have a unambiguous understanding of their mechanism, that is: No matter serializing or deserializing, the data are transformed from the original format to the target format:
    Serializing: Object => XML.
    Deserializing: XML => Object.

So these are the general purposes of many situations. But which role does the CS class generated by the XSD.exe tool act? That is the Type in the follow line, which controls the format of serializing and deserializing:
        // Create an instance of the XmlSerializer specifying type and namespace.
        XmlSerializer serializer = new
        XmlSerializer(typeof(OrderedItem));

You can change the OrderedItem to your own class generated by the XSD.exe tool.