none
Hello Team

    General discussion

  • Quick query, Do we get charged for the Azure storage even if we have stopped (deallocated) the VM. Also if we have any additional storage and we delete it, are we still charged.
    Friday, March 3, 2017 1:07 PM

All replies

  • Yes, you are charged for storage used by your VM when it is turned off. If this is standard storage you are charged for the actual amount of space used by your VHD, for premium storage you are charged for the whole disk unit, so for a P10 you are charged for 128GB.

    If you delete storage you will not be charged for it.


    Sam Cogan Microsoft Azure MVP
    Blog | Twitter

    Friday, March 3, 2017 1:34 PM
  • Hi Sam,

    Thank you so much for the detailed explanation.

    One last query, if I delete the attached storage (which is default not purchased extra), will I be able to start the VM after two weeks with same applications and folders parked on it’s OS drive?

    Friday, March 3, 2017 2:03 PM
  • If you delete the storage that contains the VM's OS disk then no, you will not be able to start that VM, as it has no disk. You will need to re-build the VM and install your applications again.

    Sam Cogan Microsoft Azure MVP
    Blog | Twitter

    Friday, March 3, 2017 5:13 PM