none
Having a little problem, ADO issue. RRS feed

• Question

•  

Alright, first of all, not sure if I am posting in the right forum or not, but have to begin somewhere.  I have created an ASP.NET based workorder/project management system utilizing a sqlexpress database.  I have also created a simple windows form, that initiates a connection to the database, and checks for new workorders, notifying users of a new workorder being added.  The problem I am experiencing, is that database seems to be "locked" or read-only, I beleive this is being caused by the user "NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE" haveing exclusive access to the database, however I am no expert, and could certianly use some further "guidance".  here is a snippet of code for my connection string being utilized within the windows form -

SqlConnection dbConn = null;

SqlCommand connCmd = null;

SqlDataReader dataReader = null;

SqlParameter param = new SqlParameter();

param.ParameterName = "@read";

param.Value = Read;

string strConn = null;

string strSQL = "SELECT TOP 1 IDWorkOrder FROM ISWWorkOrders WITH(NOLOCK) WHERE [Read] = @Read";

strConn = "Network Library=DBMSSOCN;" +

"Data Source=(omitted)\\(omitted);" +

"Initial Catalog=ISWeb;" +

"User ID=(omitted);" +

"Password=(omitted)";

dbConn = new SqlConnection(strConn);

dbConn.ConnectionString = strConn;

dbConn.Open();

connCmd = new SqlCommand(strSQL, dbConn);

connCmd.Parameters.Add(param);

dataReader = connCmd.ExecuteReader();

Thanks in advance for the help.

-Lukin

Friday, January 4, 2008 5:05 PM

Answers

•  

Alright, I was able to fix this quite easily.  Ill' show you what I did.  The connection string in my ASP.net app was accessing my DB exclusivley, I changed this by taking out "|AttachDbFilname|"mydb"; User Instance=True" and changing it to "Initial Catalog=mydb; Integrated security=True".  Therefore, now instead of "Attaching the db exclusively, it just opens it.