none
Dynamic LINQ query error: Overload resolution failed .... RRS feed

• Question

• I have some limited experience in the creation of normal LINQ to SQL queries but I now want to find a method of generating dynamic queries that will respond to user selections in various DropDownLists on my ASP.NET 3.5 web page. The following link to Scott Guthrie's blog article on dynamic LINQ queries looked like it would provide a potential solution:

http://weblogs.asp.net/scottgu/archive/2008/01/07/dynamic-linq-part-1-using-the-linq-dynamic-query-library.aspx

Unfortunately, I can't get dynamic LINQ queries to work. I have downloaded the VB Dynamic Query Library, copied Dynamic.vb into my ASP.NET site and referenced System.Linq.Dynamic in my VB.NET code behind page. However, my page fails with the compilation error message "Overload resolution failed because no accessible 'Where' can be called with these arguments" on the following line of code: 

Recipients = myDBC.Entrants.Where("FirstName = 'David'") 

I am probably making a very basic error somewhere. Any help would be much appreciated.

David 

Monday, November 23, 2009 11:19 AM

Answers

• Problem now resolved!!!

I had been doing my testing on a live test version of my website. However, a short time ago I found out that a test on my local machine ran ok. I then realised that the local version of Dynamic.vb was more recent than the version uploaded to my ISP. Upgrading this file fixed the online problem.

The strange thing is, I have no recollection of ever modifying the Dynamic.vb file after its initial creation (which was a straight copy from the Dynamic Linq Library downloaded from Microsoft). Nothing in that file came from me. Perhaps something prompted me several days ago to recopy the Dynamic.vb just after I had uploaded my original version to my ISP and I then forgot to refresh the online version. Perhaps I'm going senile..... 

Whatever I did wrong has wasted two days of my life. Grrrrrrrrr.