none
How to get the matching foreign key property from a Navigation property RRS feed

• Question

• I have an auditing framework I wrote a while back for LINQ to SQL, but when I ported it to EF it had some limitations over the L2S version.

I am using EF 4.1 Code-first in this example but I think the solution would be the same, if I were using an EDMX or not.

I have an Entity defined below, with AddressId and Address properties. These 2 properties are wired up together.

public class Claim
    {
        [Required, StringLength(200)]
        public string CompanyName { get; set; }

public int AddressId { get; set; }

public virtual Address Address { get; set; }
    }

Now what I want to do is say, given a Navigation property, how can I find the matching foreigh key property. For example, given the Claim Address property, how can I query the EF MetadataWorkspace to locate it's matching AddressId FK property.

A long time I started playing with this, and came up with something along these lines... Although it's totally not working and I gave up on it a while back, but now I'd really like to solve it.

public string GetEntityRelationshipKeyName<T, TR>()
        {
          Type entityType = typeof(T);
          Type relType = typeof(TR);

EntityType type = (from meta in ObjectContext.MetadataWorkspace.GetItems(DataSpace.CSpace)
                    where meta.BuiltInTypeKind == BuiltInTypeKind.EntityType
                    select meta)
                   .OfType<EntityType>()
                   .Where(e => e.Name == relType.Name).Single();

//foreach (IRelatedEnd relatedEnd in ((IEntityWithRelationships)entityType).RelationshipManager.GetAllRelatedEnds())
          //{
          //  foreach (IEntityWithKey relatedItem in relatedEnd)
          //  {
          //    object reference = null;
          //    entities.TryGetObjectByKey(relatedItem.EntityKey, out reference);