Square One RRS feed

• Question

• Did I err in purchasing Expression Web 4 to design my web page? I am not a professional. Years ago I used Front Page to pick a template and create a few web pages. Are there templates to start with? Where can I find a tutorial to lead me through starting the program and beginning a new website?
    Friday, July 16, 2010 3:57 PM

Answers

All replies

• Yes there are templates: Site -> New Site -> Templates

Read the BEFORE POSTING sticky on this forum - lots of references to help.

From the sticky thread: Building a Basic Website: http://by-expression.com/media/p/1300.aspx

--
    Chris Hanscom - Microsoft MVP
    On Facebook | On Twitter | Resource Center | Veign's Blog | Web Development Help

Get a Complete Website Analysis by Veign
    Friday, July 16, 2010 4:02 PM
  • Look at the Before Posting sticky thread ( http://social.expression.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/web/thread/99c95aee-bfe6-4c4d-80d4-8d197194a942 ) -  this contains links to tutorials and other resources.

Templates can be found using Site->New Site and click on Templates

Ron Symonds
    Microsoft MVP (Expression Web)

www.rxs-enterprises.org/fp
    Friday, July 16, 2010 4:06 PM
  • "Did I err in purchasing Expression Web 4 to design my web page?"

No, not by a long shot! EW is a very powerful and flexible application that, once you work with for a while, far exceeds Front Page in terms of capability. Sure, it's not your mother's Front Page, but the Web is not your mother's web any longer.

Take Chris' and Rons' advice and take advantage of the info provided in the "Before Posting" thread. Work through some of the tutorials as you work with EW. You'll be glad you did!

Now, get going, and have some fun learning new skills!

--P

Columbia, CA. USA The Gilded Moon-Sierra Nevada Photography
    "If you want nice fresh oats, you have to pay a fair price. If you can be satisfied with oats that have already been through the horse; that comes a little cheaper."