none
CallByName() function for variables and constants... RRS feed

• Question

• Does there exist, or does any one know of, a function which works very similar to 'CallByName()' - but for selecting variables and/or constants based on a string value? We have many modules and classes, each containing roughly 100 or so constants. I can't post any factual sample code here of what I'm doing because I'm a military contractor and they sort of look down on me doing that. But, the gist is that sometimes in code, we don't know which variable or constant to reference or return in a function until we either get input from a user or another function tells us.

Here is a mock example of what we're trying to do...

Private Const m_ERR_1000_ENUS As System.String = "My error message in English (U.S.A.) for error number 1000."

Private Const m_ERR_1000_ESES As System.String = "My error message in Spanish (Spain) for error number 1000."

Private Const m_ERR_1001_ENUS As System.String = "My error message in English (U.S.A.) for error number 1001."

Private Const m_ERR_1001_ESES As System.String = "My error message in Spanish (Spain) for error number 1001."

Private Const m_ERR_1002_ENUS As System.String = "My error message in English (U.S.A.) for error number 1002."

Private Const m_ERR_1002_ESES As System.String = "My error message in Spanish (Spain) for error number 1002."

Public Sub Main()

MsgBox(GetErrMsg(1001, 1034))

End Sub

'Returns an error message string based on the supplied error number and system locale...

Friend Sub GetErrMsg(ByVal ErrNumber As System.Int32, ByVal Locale As System.Int32) As System.String

Dim strErrMbr As System.String 'Retains the name of the member (constant) to be selected... 

Dim strLocale As System.String 'Retains the locale identifier...

Select Case Locale 'Determine the specified locale...

Case 1033 'English (U.S.A.)…

strLocale = "ENUS"

Case 1034 'Spanish (Spain)…

strLocale = "ESES"

End Select