Help needed to create a custom control using Interfaces RRS feed

• Question

• User-67435916 posted

I am a beginner level web programmer and have basic understanding of C#, ASP.net. As I am currently learning the real-world usage of .Net Interfaces, I need help in creating a custom control which I believe would require usage of Interfaces.

The custom control I want to create is to display a list of upcoming events in a company or organization. The display would be more like an RSS reader. The control should provide the following functionalities:

• Display list of upcoming events with event title, short description (limited characters) and date of event
    • Load/save data into a given table where table schema and database connection are provided by the implementing class.

Would greatly appreciate, if anyone can help me to get started here. Also if similar question has already been answered in any other thread, please re-direct me to that.

Thanks

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 2:58 PM

Answers

• User3866881 posted

For RSS,you should create a database to store these info by adding title,brief desc,date/time……ect。

and then try to output your aspx file just the form of rss feed for others to order。

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, March 29, 2012 12:50 AM

All replies

• User1838151321 posted

Hi Jarnail, Your custom control have to load the data (ok sure), and save too?

To Load data you can derive your control from a Datalist or Gridview control, specializing his funcionality to get data from your table.

But simplier you can use those controls as is...

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 5:48 PM
  • User3866881 posted

Hello jarnail:)

Considering it that you are a newbie,maybe you should learn how to make a standard Web Server control first:You should know more about the cycle of ASP.NET's page life,and a lot of things。

Now your problem and solution can be found at:

http://www.4guysfromrolla.com/articles/102903-1.aspx