none
Degree of participation RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to databases and Access, but I have been reading a book called Database Design for Mere Mortals by Michael Hernandez and it talks about setting the degree of participation (participation constraints?) between two tables, which is the minimum and maximum number of records that one table can have associated with a single record in a related table. But when I go to Access and try to do this, I have no idea how. Can this be accomplished in Microsoft Access? I have searched the net and have come up with nothing. Is it possible to set the degree of participation in Access? Any help or information would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

Jay
    Monday, November 21, 2016 1:16 AM

All replies

• Hi Jaydubya99,

it looks like you are talking about Degree of Relationship.

Degree of relationship refers to the number of participating entities in a relationship. If there are two entities involved in relationship then it is referred to as binary relationship. If there are three entities involved then it is called as ternary relationship and so on.

On the other hand, it is the cardinality of relationship that defines the number of instances of one entity as it relates to the number of instances of the other entity.  Based on the different combinations between two entities we can have either one-to-one, one-to-many or many-to-many relationship.

Following are the degrees of Relationships.
    1.   Single Entity - Unary
    2.   Double Entities - Binary
    3.   Triple Entities - Ternary
    4.   N Entities - N- ary

Following are the types of Relationships.
    1. one-to-one
    2. one-to-many
    3. many-to-many

it is concept that you can implement when you design the database.

please visit the link mentioned below. in which you will get the idea how to implement this concept to design the database.

Entity Data Model Relationships

Regards

Deepak

MSDN Community Support