Connect Android Studio to Azure SQL RRS feed

• Question

• I want to build an android application for patients which will be developed using Android Studio. Hospital software is designed using Visual Basic. Currently it uses MS SQL SERVER for data storage.

So, the data required for the working of patient portal app will be uploaded to cloud from the local server in hospital. The same could be accessed using patients app which is a android based mobile application. 

As I have zero experience in azure and cloud, I will need exact tutorial suitable for this integrated working of Android studio, Visual Basic and SQL SERVER in cloud. 

Connection procedure of Android Studio to Azure SQL is not available any where. I found a tutorial of Android studio using azure mobile app back end. But I need to connect Android studio to Azure SQL, not to the Azure mobile app back end. 

Can I get any help to make connection between Android Studio and Azure SQL?

Friday, February 14, 2020 6:56 AM

All replies

• Hi Fathima,

We have quite a few mobile tutorials examples you can follow. There are a couple components to this in additional to the database platform. There is the Mobile Web back-end where you can select the desired runtime, and serves to connect the hosted application with the database and the mobile client, and there is the mobile client (Android or iOS) component. There is no direct connection to Azure SQL Database, as all the existing tutorials have been updated to leverage mobile web back-end. Please see: How to connect sql azure with android app and sql server