Creating RSS reader in Expression blend 4 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, I'm posting this here for two reasons.

1. I'm still a little new at silverlight and at coding so some help is needed.

2. t won't let me post in the expressions forum... don't know why. It says Access denied though so I have to post it here.

I'm trying to create an RSS reader in Expression Blend 4. I looked in the help files and it seems I can make one and I did make a WPF of one. A WPF is fine for what I'm goind because I'm not planning on distributing this on an actual wab page.

I got the basic setup working. I tested it with the RSS from my twitter account. It works... but the only issue (for now) is that it won't update in realtime.

Is there someway to make it so that as soon as I post something (or nearly as soon), then it updates?

I'm also wondering if RSS feeds can be put into different catigories... I think the MSNBC one is sorta like that... like it's all coming from the same feed but one part is for news, one part is for sports... or maybe it's possible to have multiple RSS feeds display news in the same application.

... sorta like Twitter does where one person posts one thing, and another person can post something and the last thing posted will move down to reveal the new one.

I haven't tried linking two RSS feeds to one application although I don't see why it couldn't be done, the only thing like I said is that it doesn't update in real time.

Any ideas?

Again, I'm using Expression Blend 4, so tweaking around the UI won't be a big prblem... just have to jtell the application to do something or play an animation when a new post comes... well that's it, sorry for posting it here, but I can't post in the expressions forum.

Thanks.

Friday, June 18, 2010 10:57 AM

Answers

• It's possible to create a Rss Reader with Silverlight

If you want to get feeds from one other website you need to write a little service that you can host on e.g. SQL Azure e.g.