none
Using 32-bit DMA under 64-bit Windows RRS feed

• Question

• HI:

We have one old PCI device. It has a bus master DMA, but only support 32bit addressing.
    Now we want to write a driver for 64-bit Windows 7.

I studied "Handling DMA Operations in Framework-Based Drivers" of KMDF.
    I have two questions.
    First:
    WdfDmaEnablerCreate() can specify the type of bus-master DMA operation.
    Should i specify its DMA operation type with WdfDmaProfilePacket (using 32 bit addressing), not WdfDmaProfilePacket64?

Second:
    Assume that i specify WdfDmaProfilePacket for this device.
    I create and initialize a DMA Transaction by WdfDmaTransactionInitializeUsingRequest() or WdfDmaTransactionInitialize().
    And This DMA Transaction has a transfer buffer that is 64-bit addressing.
    Does the driver framework handle a translation from 64 bit addressing to 32 bit addressing?
    Or the driver framework create a new buffer below 32 bit address space and copy transfer buffer to that?

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 10:24 AM

Answers

• > Should i specify its DMA operation type with WdfDmaProfilePacket (using 32 bit addressing), not
    > WdfDmaProfilePacket64?

Correct. The "64" there refers to 64-bit physical addresses, which your device is not capable of. 

> I create and initialize a DMA Transaction by WdfDmaTransactionInitializeUsingRequest() or
    > WdfDmaTransactionInitialize().

You're referring to the VirtualAddress argument to WdfDmaTransactionInitialize? Yes, in 64-bit Windows that will be a 64-bit address. But that's a virtual address. 

> Does the driver framework handle a translation from 64 bit addressing to 32 bit addressing?

To put it briefly, yes. It also handles many other aspects of the DMA device's compatibility with the platform.