none
C# VSTO 2012 - Importing data from external source RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone....

Let me start by saying that I'm brand new to working VSTO, so if I'm missing something please be easy on me :)

I'm trying to build an Excel 2010 AddIn in VSTO 2012 and am running into an issue. The add in will add a custom tab to the Excel Ribbon, where there are several buttons. When a user clicks a button, I want to execute a pre-defined query from a .odc file.

Now, I can get the ribbon customized without any issues, and the .odc file is successfully connected to the workbook in the C# code (meaning I can see it in the Workbook Connections dialog of Excel). My problem is that I can't seem to find a way to import the data from that external data source. I've been searching online for a couple of days, and nothing seems to be working for me. Here's the code that I've currently got in the Ribbon button's Click event handler:

private void query1_Click(object sender, RibbonControlEventArgs e)
    {
         //get the control context
        Excel.Window window = e.Control.Context;

//get the active workbook and worksheet
        Excel.Workbook activeWorkbook = (Excel.Workbook)window.Application.ActiveWorkbook;
        Excel.Worksheet activeSheet = activeWorkbook.ActiveSheet;

Excel.WorkbookConnection conn = activeWorkbook.Connections[1];
        conn.OLEDBConnection.BackgroundQuery = false;
        conn.Refresh();
        MessageBox.Show("DONE");
    }

When this code executes, I get the MessageBox displayed, but no data is shown in the Worksheet. I know that the .odc file is fine, because I can manually go into the "existing connections" and the run the import, and it works fine.

I've also tried adding a QueryTable, but had no luck getting that to refresh either. Additionally, by adding a QueryTable on top of the workbook connection, I get 2 connections displayed in the Workbook Connections dialog in Excel.