Windows 8 XAML- Storing objects in Application.Resources Resource Dictionary

Question

• I am still relatively new to development for Windows Store Apps in XAML/C# and I'm currently dealing with some very random and intermittent problems in my app - possibly memory issues.

I am now starting to doubt whether my approach to storing data in my app is the correct one

Firstly a quick overview of how my app works - user logs on once a day, downloads data from web service and stores the data in xml files. Each time the app opens/resumes the data is loaded from xml, deserialized and stored in memory in the Application.Resouces Resource Dictionary.

The objects I am storing are my own classes which contain Observable Collections of other classes. I have declared these in App.xaml
    <localdata:MyClass x:Key="MyClassResource">

When a page needs this data I reference it using
    MyClass myClass = (MyClass)App.Current.Resources["MyClassResource"];

In my OnSuspending method I clear down these objects and create them again in OnResuming.

This approach doesn't give my users any problems for the majority of times - however I am experiencing some very intermittent problems in my app and I am trying to rule out whether this is the right approach for storing my data.

Thanks

Tuesday, February 24, 2015 1:44 PM

Answers

• The benefit of defining a resource in App.Current.Resources is that it keeps this object around and makes it accessible across the various pages in your app. An instance of the resource will be automatically created for you at start up which may be a good thing depending on your requirements.

You generally store styles and other UI stuff in App.Current.Resources but there is nothing that stops you from storing CLR objects in there as well.

I would however store an ObservabkeCollection that you add and remove objects to and from during runtime in a view model or in some kind of application service class depending on how and from where you use it, e.g: