Problem with Dynamic Data RRS feed

• Question

• User1207475660 posted

Hello Everyone

I am new to Visual Studio and new to Dynamic Data. I have created this Dynamic site using Dynamic Data Web Site template. The language I have chosen is Visual Basic, also have chosen LINQ To SQL classes & Northwind Database for this project.

I have written a validation that wants the Customer.CompanyName to start with ‘AMI’. Now even if the value starts with ‘AMI’, I get the validation error.

So to check what’s happening in the background I have set a MsgBox() to fire which returns me the field value.

Message box get’s fired twice, once with the updated value and then with the old value. So here’s the code I have written in customer class.

Kindly help me with your suggestions.

Imports Microsoft.VisualBasic<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>Imports System.ComponentModel<o:p></o:p>Imports System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations<o:p></o:p><o:p> </o:p><MetadataType(GetType(CustomerMetaData))> _<o:p></o:p>Partial Public Class Customer<o:p></o:p>    Private Sub OnCompanyNameChanging(ByVal value As String)<o:p></o:p>        MsgBox(value)<o:p></o:p>        If Not value.StartsWith("AMI") Then<o:p></o:p>            Throw New ValidationException("Company Name must start with AMI")<o:p></o:p>        End If<o:p></o:p>    End Sub<o:p></o:p>End Class<o:p></o:p><o:p> </o:p>Public Class CustomerMetaData<o:p></o:p>

Private _CompanyName As Object

<DisplayName("Company Name")> _<o:p></o:p>

Public Property CompanyName() As Object

Get<o:p></o:p>            Return _CompanyName<o:p></o:p>        End Get<o:p></o:p>        Set(ByVal value As Object)<o:p></o:p>            _CompanyName = value<o:p></o:p>        End Set<o:p></o:p>    End Property<o:p></o:p>

End Class

Thursday, December 4, 2008 6:40 AM

Answers

• User-1005219520 posted