SSIS - Connecting to Oracle RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to using SSIS (after using DTS on SQL Server 2000 for many years).

I am trying for the first time to connect to an Oracle 9.2 database and export data from it into SQL Server 2005.

I used the Microsoft OLE DB Oracle Provider to connect to the Oracle instance. The test connection works fine, but when I try and preview a table or copy data from Oracle I get the error....

The component reported the following errors

Cannot retrieve column code page

Has anyone got any ideas how I fix this?

Many thanks

Pete

Thursday, January 19, 2006 2:56 PM

Answers

All replies

• Assuming your using western alphabet (code page 1252 Latin I), just right click -> properties on the OLE Src and set the AlwaysUseDefaultCodePage to TRUE. 

If you aren't using code page 1252 in Oracle, you'll need to set the DefaultCodePage in the same properties window.

You may want to review some of the other posts regarding SSIS and Oracle as they contain many useful hints and workarounds.

Larry Pope
    Thursday, January 19, 2006 3:25 PM
  • Scott Barrett has done alot of work of using SSIS with Oracle and has written about it on his blog: http://microsoftdw.blogspot.com/

Donald Farmer has a gret post on the subject as well: http://www.sqljunkies.com/WebLog/donald_farmer/archive/2005/03/13/8819.aspx

-Jamie

• Proposed as answer by denduluri Thursday, September 29, 2011 4:06 PM
    Thursday, January 19, 2006 3:31 PM
  • Larry, that worked fine... Thank you ... I will have a look through the other Oracle posts.

Cheers

Pete

Thursday, January 19, 2006 3:36 PM
  • Here is one of the original threads regarding Code Pages.
    http://forums.microsoft.com/msdn/showpost.aspx?postid=117014&siteid=1#117014

It also discusses some potential Number/Decimal conversion issues that may occur with your version of Oracle.  I haven't seen this issue with 10g r1/r2.