none
Finding Memory Leak with DebugDiag 1.2 or ?? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am fairly new to this and have a small application that appears to be leaking. I get an out of memory exception after acquiring data (~60 image captures consistently) from a camera (which includes some analysis). The images are 16-bit 3K x 2K in size. The application contains unsafe code required for speed considerations and does use/require 3rd party non-.NET libraries. I am looking for the next steps to find the memory leak. Due to dependencies it is a 32-bit application.

Facts:

- My approach so far has been to use DebugDiag v1.2 with reporting including full dumps and I am using the script MemoryAnalysis.asp for the data analysis. The dumps are started at a stable point (i.e. prior to starting another round of acquiring) and occur while acquiring. I have tried both the performance and native types of rules.

If you think some specific areas would be of benefit to get more information, just let me know. Any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks for looking,

Buck

• Moved by Bob Shen Friday, January 25, 2013 6:36 AM
    Wednesday, January 23, 2013 8:56 PM

Answers

• Hi Buck,

Welcome to the MSDN Forum.

Someone asked same question: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-us/vcgeneral/thread/E0AAEAA5-2F51-498E-999E-B27019AA257B from plodoc:

You are linking with the optimized C runtime library's malloc which is FPO'ed. Using the debug one will work as you wish.

/nologo /MTd /W3 /GX /Zi /Od /D "WIN32" /D "NDEBUG" /D "_CONSOLE" /D "_MBCS" /Fp"Release/Testcppvc6.pch" /Yu"stdafx.h" /Fo"Release/" /Fd"Release/" /FD /c

Other ways to find memory leaks can be to use different tools, for instance DebugDiag which injects its own dll in the process to track the leaks. Check the comments initiated by Volker von Einem in the codeproject article you're following.