How to implement user activation RRS feed

• Question

• User100248066 posted

The requirements are simple, but none standard:  Admin creates the user (email, full name, phone) and the user is emailed a link to set the username and password.  I am struggling with implementing the username/password page. 

* The admin code successfully generates the key
    * The NewUserController.SetupCallback(string code, string username) executes correctly and the page is displayed allowing the user to change the username and set the password

When clicking on the <submit> button, the screen goes blank and NewUserController.SetupCallback(SetupCallbackModel model) is NOT called.

I am pondering:  is the SignInAsync correctly signing the user?  I am no pro at working with controls/view and routing in the ASP.NET MVC (framework or core), so there might very well be issues there, too.  Also, if there are other issues folks see and want to point out, I am very open to it all!

Admin code to create the user:

var newUser = new ApplicationUser
    {
        UserName = createUser.UserName,
        Email = createUser.Email,
        FullName = createUser.FullName,
        PhoneNumber = createUser.PhoneNumber
    };

var identityResult = await _userManager.CreateAsync(newUser);

if (identityResult.Succeeded)
    {
        var code = await _userManager.GenerateEmailConfirmationTokenAsync(newUser);

var url = Url.Action("SetupCallback", "NewUser", new { code = code, username = newUser.NormalizedUserName }, Request.Scheme);

Debug.WriteLine("\n****** --> " + url + "\n");

}

Here is the NewUserController code:

[HttpGet]
    [AllowAnonymous]
    public async Task<IActionResult> SetupCallback(string code, string username)
    {
        var user = await _userManager.FindByNameAsync(username);
        var isValid = await _userManager.ConfirmEmailAsync(user, code);
        //var isValid = await _userManager.VerifyUserTokenAsync(user, "PasswordlessLoginTotpProvider", "passwordless-auth", token);