How and where do you post "Jquery Ajax post" in Razor pages RRS feed

• Question

• User1140794346 posted

hi guys

I am new to razor pages, but have a wealth of experience in other .net apps

I am working on a personal project that heavily requires JQuery posts e.g. seen below. My question is, where do I post the requests to ? Do I create a controller and post to the controller ? If so, then do I get the scaffolding controller actions to create the CRUD pages, which the controller will serve back ?  Or do I post to another razor page ?

Please help

I have been searching online for examples, but I only see MVC examples

function LearningRazor(input) {

var token = $('#__RequestVerificationToken').val();

$.ajax({

type: "POST",
                    url: "/Upload/AjaxUpload",
                    contentType: false,
                    processData: false,
                    data: formData,
                    success: function (message) {
                      /// test
                    },
                    error: function (message) {
                       /// test
                    }

});
            };

Monday, August 24, 2020 12:47 PM

Answers

• User-821857111 posted

You would use controllers (Api Controllers) in a Razor Pages app to send JSON data to your AJAX call. You will probably only do this if you have a fair amount of data services being called by AJAX methods. Otherwise, you can just add the occasional named handler method to your PageModel class that returns a JsonResult. 

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, August 24, 2020 4:02 PM
  • User475983607 posted

ehi.baye

Its not JSON data, its just sending updates to the website, db calls and other post/get functions