locked
WSS 3 - how to prevent users from deleting after import RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi all,
    please give me an advice.

    We do have:
    - one domain with active directory
    - one wss site with some user accounts, users were created in one OU
    - then we did export for this wss site and import it into another wss site
    - it's two different farm with different OU for users
    - second (imported) wss site has its own OU in the same AD

    After import ( with -includeusersecurity parameter) all logins saved and the logins still in first OU
    we need:
    - move users without changing login into new OU (It's just moving user accounts in AD from one OU to other OU - no question)
    - then we need delete old WSS site so that prevent deleting user logins from AD.

    what should I do?

    Thanks for advice,

    Oksana
    Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:13 PM

Answers

  • No worries thank youf rothe detailed response, deleting the WSS sites will not remove the users from AD.


    -Ivan



    Ivan Sanders http://linkedin.com/in/iasanders http://dimension-si.com/blog
    Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:46 AM

All replies

  • Help me understand the environment, you have the same userId (UserName) being used Twice in One AD Domain with Seperate OUs? Just curious, Do they have the same eMail address as well?



    -Ivan
    Ivan Sanders http://linkedin.com/in/iasanders http://dimension-si.com/blog
    Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:54 PM
  • Detailed information:

    - we have one domain named DOMAIN
    - we have one WSS site with some users: Domain\user1, domain\user2 etc. Users were created in DOMAIN\OU1 Organization Unit in AD
    - then we exported the wss site using stsadm -o export -url -includeusersecurity
    - we imported WSS site on other WSS farm that has its own OU (DOMAIN\OU2) in AD. We used stsadm -o import -url -includeusersecurity
    - in new WSS site we do see that users are saved and no login changed (DOMAIN\user1, DOMAIN\user2 etc), all data and users imported correctly and look identical
    - now users accounts is still in DOMAIN\OU1
    - we have to move these users' accounts frome OU1 to OU2 - it's just moving in AD
    - but then we have to delete old wss site. And I am sure that when I'll delete old wss site all these users' accounts will be deleted from AD, but we must save users logins without change for new Wss.

    what should I do to prevent deleting users account while deleting old Wss site?
    Maybe using stsadm -o migrateuser for old WSS site change its logins for example to DOMAIN\olduser1, DOMAIN\olduser2 etc and only after this delete old site?

    thanks,

    Oksana

    Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:58 AM
  • No worries thank youf rothe detailed response, deleting the WSS sites will not remove the users from AD.


    -Ivan



    Ivan Sanders http://linkedin.com/in/iasanders http://dimension-si.com/blog
    Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:46 AM