none
Set visibility range for pushpoints, polylines and polygons RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to web development.

Is it possible to specify a range of scales at which pushpoints/lines/polygons display? I.e. at maximum extent you see polygons for country outlines.  When you zoom in, pushpins display while the polygons vanish.

If so, please show an example of the HTML :).  Thanks.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 8:49 AM

Answers

All replies

• The best way to do this is to separate your data into layers what you want to have visible at different zoom levels. From there you can use the maps viewchange end event to make layers visible or not based on the zoom level for. I've put together a sample you can try here: http://bingmapsv8samples.azurewebsites.net/#Limit%20Layer%20to%20Zoom%20Range The source code can be viewed here: https://github.com/Microsoft/BingMapsV8CodeSamples/blob/master/Samples/Layers/Limit%20Layer%20to%20Zoom%20Range.html

[Blog] [twitter] [LinkedIn]

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 8:23 PM
  • Thanks - lots of helpful resources.

I'm attempting to use the Bing Spatial Data Services module to load boundaries for Countries and States.  But can't quite get it right... :

var map = new Microsoft.Maps.Map(document.getElementById('myMap'), {
        credentials: 'Your Bing Maps Key',
        center: new Microsoft.Maps.Location(43.7, -79.3834),
        zoom: 2
            });

//Create an array of locations to get the boundaries of.
            var zipCodes = ['98004', '98005', '98007', '98008', '98039'];
            var state = ['New York']

//Create the request options.
            var geoDataRequestOptions = {
                entityType: 'Postcode1' 
                entityType: 'AdminDivision1' 

};

//Load the Bing Spatial Data Services module.
            Microsoft.Maps.loadModule('Microsoft.Maps.SpatialDataService', function () {

//Use the GeoData API manager to get the boundaries of the zip codes.