Accessing the base class properties RRS feed

• Question

• User1988876724 posted

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to Dynamic Data and was wondering if anyone could lend a hand.

I'm currently working on an application where after you perform an insert on a table, you can obtain a property from that entiy's base class.

i.e. let's say there is a property within 'EntityBase' called 'Reference' and that property is inherited by the entity I am inserting into.

Within my PageTemplate insert.aspx.cs, I have:

protected void DetailsDataSource_Inserted(object sender, EntityDataSourceChangedEventArgs e)
            {
                 var myInsertedIntoEntity = e.Entity;
            }

This should give me access to 'myInsertedIntoEntity''s public properties and methods, but is there a way to access the properties of 'EntityBase'?

Or am I going about this all wrong?

Thank you in advance,

MHird

Monday, March 12, 2012 6:56 PM

Answers

• User-330204900 posted

OK in that case all you need to do is cast the entity to the base entity to get at the common properties.

var a = e.Entity as EntityBase;
    if(a!=null)
    {
        // do you stuff here
    }

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, March 13, 2012 10:01 AM

All replies

• User-330204900 posted

Hi MHird, first thing first it's always best with DD to explain what you are trying to achive rather than (I am assuming you are using some version of inheritance in your model?)

Monday, March 12, 2012 8:07 PM
  • User1988876724 posted

Hi Stephen,

My model uses single table inheritance, and all of my entities inherit from 'EntityBase', what occurs is whenever a new object has been inserted, EntityBase generates a GUID for that object and stores it in the databse.

I have a partial class called Companies which inherits from EntityBase, whenever I insert a new company, EntityBase generates a new GUID for that company, and my aim is to access to the generated company guid.