none
Change destination column type from TEXT to XML? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. A SQL Server 2000 system is being upgraded to SQL 2012. The current BizTalk integration inserts an XML document into a TEXT column in an "INQUEUE" table. The xml is then processed to load data into a database - I'm currently replacing this logic.  I want to replace the TEXT type with either a VARCHAR(max) or XML type.   I'm not a BizTalk developer.  Will the current BizTalk "adapter" - or whatever it is - fail if the type is changed to XML?  If I can use the XML type, I would not need to convert it myself.  Also, it might be nice if BizTalk gets the insert failure if the document is not valid XML.  (In one case, a special character was included in an element of the xml document sent from BizTalk.  SQL Server fails to convert it to xml.  I think it's better not to get a bad document and let the error be raised at the source; otherwise, we need a separate process to forward the error.) 

Thanks

Randy in Marin

Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:08 PM

Answers

• Since 2005?  Then it must be BizTalk Server 2004 which means the legacy SQL Adapter.

That is significant leap in the database. You will have to test extensively.

It may work ok of you don't change anything on either end, BizTalk or the database.

The Adapter supports VARCHAR but the Schema in the BizTalk app would have to change, and that means recompile and redeploy.

This is where I point out that BizTalk Server 2004 is long out of support and you should upgrade to BizTalk Server 2013 R2.

Friday, March 20, 2015 1:25 AM

All replies

• Without specifically testing this, I would vote yes, it will fail if you change just the data type on the column. The Schema is type aware and in practice, they have to match.

You did not mention what version of BizTalk Server and which SQL Adapter you are using, legacy or WCF.

Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:47 PM