What is equivalent to component class of windows forms to that of asp.net? RRS feed

• Question

• I was doing a project where i was using custom controll(component class) of windows forms to achive my requirements, now suddenly the project has been changed to asp.net where i have to perform the same operation. Im new to asp.net so i dont know which control to use in replacement to the custom controll. I tried using the asp.net server controll but im unable to do that. Is there any other way?
    Wednesday, July 4, 2012 10:36 AM

Answers

• You need to reference the class library where Server controls are from the ASP.NET web site or web application project. Once you've done that and build the projects, you need to register server controls either on page where you want to use it or in web.config file.

See following page for walkthrough http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/yhzc935f.

And to learn more about ASP.NET, you should post your ASP.NET related questions to forums at http://forums.asp.net/.

Stateless in ASP.NET and web generally means that the state is not saved between requests, if you don't do so by yourself, nothing to do with Cor's statement about static members although that is true also. Stateless comes at cost that you need to save the state of you controls between the requests, because every request creates new control instance; that's something you don't need to think in desktop applications.

• Edited by MasaSam Thursday, July 5, 2012 10:38 AM
    • Proposed as answer by Mike Feng Friday, July 6, 2012 7:18 AM
    • Marked as answer by Mike Feng Monday, July 9, 2012 2:23 AM
    Thursday, July 5, 2012 10:30 AM

All replies

• you need to use server control , in case of custom control you need to port your Windows forms custom control to ASP.Net Custom controls in fact there is there is no direct mapping , you may reuse business logic but you need to rewrite the entire UI 

Ashwini

Wednesday, July 4, 2012 11:23 AM
  • Ashwini: