none
Persistent data acquisition via usb RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!
    I need to get data continuously from USB device. I've got a simple driver(as well as it source code) which allows me to make basic IO operations. The key problem is computer performance. If I run my program on high performance computer there are no problems, otherwise I lose some data packets  during data transfer.

I want to implement ring buffer within driver. Is it possible to allocate ring buffer, create a thread within driver and then make continuous requests for data transfer(within created thread) so as not to have delays between requests?

I want to fire events to user mode application each time when half of ring buffer in the driver got completed with data.

I'm not very experienced with driver programming, could you please point me out the direct related topics or sites or forum links or source examples to learn this topic effectively?

I guess I must know how to start own thread within the driver, how to allocate kernel space memory in the right way and how to make an event notifier for user space.

It's not easy to grasp all what I need from the WDF book. Are there any realization examples in source code for related topics? (with comments if possible) 

ps. sorry for my poor English )

Tuesday, September 10, 2013 8:50 AM

All replies

• Have you profiled the slower systems with Xperf or Kernrate to see where the driver has bottlenecks?  Before going to the ring buffer and the techniques you are proposing understand where the delay is, including if it is you application or you driver.   If you designed your driver well, for instance a simple model for "get me a piece of data", you can easily change the interface if that is where the delays are.