Passing an Excel Range to C++ RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm an absolute newbie at COM programming.  I've been getting by reading articles off Microsoft's website and tutorials on the web.  But my Amazon books won't be coming until next week.      In the meantime, I have a question that perhaps some kind soul can answer.

I have a VBA function that passes a pointer to ActiveSheet and two Excel ranges to a C++ function contained in a DLL.   The VBA function is:

Code Block

Private Declare Function runTestMLE Lib _
        "Office Automation 2.dll" ( _
        ByVal wks As Worksheet, ByVal rngVars As Variant, ByVal rngObjF As Variant) As Long

Private Sub butSolve_Click()
        Dim retVal As Long
        GAForm.Hide
        retVal = runTestMLE( ActiveSheet, Range(txtVars.Value), Range(txtObjF.Value) )
    End Sub

I need to pass the ranges themselves, not their contained values, because the C++ function will change their values and write the new values back into the corresponding cells on the Worksheet where they came from.   I understand that to C++, a Range is a VARIANT with a vt of VT_DISPATCH.

On the C++ side, this is what my function, so far, looks like:

Code Block

int __stdcall runTestMLE( IDispatch *wks, VARIANT vRngVars, VARIANT vRngObjF )
    {
        CoInitialize(NULL);
        IDispatch *app = applicationFromWorksheet( wks );

// Objective function sanity checks.
        isRangeVariant( vRngObjF, "Third argument (vRngObjF) is not a Range VARIANT." );
        hasOneElement( vRngObjF, "The obj function range should only contain one cell." );

// Variables array sanity checks.
        isRangeVariant( vRngVars, "Second argument (vRngVars) is not a Range VARIANT." );
        hasMoreThanZeroElements( vRngVars, "Vars range should have more than zero cells." );

if(! vRngVars.parray ) {
            ::MessageBox(NULL, "vRngVars->parray was NULL.", "Error", 0x10010);
            return (4);
        }

// Determine the array type
        HRESULT lResult;