USB HID CreateFile and Write File RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All -

I'll start by admitting that I am a novice working with Windows internals.  I have code that is sitting on top of the standard USB HID drivers and is trying to interact with an HID device (not mouse or keyboard).  I am able to successfully detect the device.  In the sequence of writing to the device, I'm invoking CreateFile() as such:

HidHandle = CreateFile(
                        DeviceName,
                        GENERIC_READ | GENERIC_WRITE,
                        FILE_SHARE_READ | FILE_SHARE_WRITE,
                        OPEN_EXISTING,
                        0);

The value of the only variable, "DeviceName", is:

\\?\hid#vid_1cbe&pid_0000#6&116261e7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}

which I understand is the Device Path Name.

The CreateFile() invocation succeeds and always returns what I assume to be a good value - a positive integer.  The handle is saved.

The code then spawns another thread that opens the file for reading with the ReadFile() operation.  The call is:

int BytesRead = 0;
                    byte[] BufBytes = new byte[InputReportByteLength];
                    if (ReadFile(HidHandle, BufBytes, InputReportByteLength, ref BytesRead, null))

I'm assuming this call blocks on a successful read because control is never returned.

When I later try to send a message to the device using:

WriteFile(HidHandle, ref buffer, numberOfBytesToWrite, ref numberOfBytesWritten, 0);

I never receive control back from the call.

The "buffer" is a byte[64], and the "numberOfBytesToWrite" is 64, too.

Can anyone shed some light about the ReadFile() and WriteFile() behavior?  Man, I'd love to see the APIs for the hid.dll, setupapi.dll and kernal32.dll.  Can anyone direct me to those descriptions.

(What I wouldn't give for a UNIX man page;-)

Thank you in advance.

Monday, August 23, 2010 6:53 PM

Answers