none
Spark + Tensorflow in GPUs using HDInsight

Question

• Hi, I'm new to Azure, and I would like to implement something like this: https://databricks.com/blog/2016/01/25/deep-learning-with-apache-spark-and-tensorflow.html Using Spark + Tensorflow in GPUs together to train different deep learning models. I see that GPU VMs are available in Azure, as well as a ready Spark solution with HDInsight but it seems that it is not available for GPU machines. Would you advise to install Spark and Tensorflow on GPUs VMs instead of using HDInsight, or maybe there is a better way?

Thanks for your attention, really looking for pointers here since I'm just learning about Cloud Computing.
    Tuesday, March 21, 2017 4:58 AM

Answers

• Currently, Azure HDInsight does not support GPU VMs.

Azure HDInsight is available on more virtual machine types and sizes. HDInsight can utilize the following:

·         A2 to A7 sizes that are built for general purposes

·         D-Series nodes that feature solid-state drives (SSDs) and 60-percent faster processors

·         A8 and A9 sizes that have InfiniBand support for fast networking

For more information, please visit HDInsight pricing.

I would recommend you create Apache Spark cluster in Azure HDInsight and install the TesnorFlow package using script action on your cluster and use it via the Jupyter notebook.

For more information, Create Apache Spark clusters in Azure HDInsight.

Use Script Action to install external Python packages for Jupyter notebooks in Apache Spark clusters on HDInsight.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 5:40 PM
  • Hi Romeo,