none
Validation of viewstate MAC failed RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to asp.net etc.

I have developed a website that has began to act unusually. I get the following error

Validation of viewstate MAC failed. If this application is hosted by a Web Farm or cluster, ensure that <machineKey> configuration specifies the same validationKey and validation algorithm. AutoGenerate cannot be used in a cluster.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Web.HttpException: Validation of viewstate MAC failed. If this application is hosted by a Web Farm or cluster, ensure that <machineKey> configuration specifies the same validationKey and validation algorithm. AutoGenerate cannot be used in a cluster.

Source Error:

This error occurs when i navagate the website or log in and log out and seems to occur quite randomly - I dont think the remote server is a web farm.

A similtaneous problem that may be related is as follows...

During developement and running locally on my machine, pages appear not to fire the page load event, when navigated to via a masterpage treeview, these did previously and code fire in the load event that included the syntax "if page.ispostback = false"

What I find strange about this problem is that when I load up previous versions of the website, from literally months ago the same problem persists (as though the problem is not with the website code)

This is also true of the first problem - ie when I load up a previous version of the website the same error occurs.

I have tried this

<pages enableeventvalidation="false"
        viewstateencryptionmode="Never">   -didn't solve the problem

I'am told I'm not on a web farm or cluster

Can some one please help with this problem, Iam so close to finishing this project (although I have felt this for the past year!!)