Calculation based on users selection RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i´m pretty new to SSAS and i wonder if the following is possible to achieve (I have lots of experience with TM1 and Infor PM, where my answer would have been "Not possible - has to be done in frontend" :-) )

OK, here it goes:

I have a time dimension which goes down to half hours, and i want to calculate an average over that dimension. For example i have 480 items shipped over the whole day, the "whole day avg" i want to calculate is 10 (480 / 48 [48 = 24 hours*2] ). This works smoothly with a calculation script.

Here is the problem: My users want to select lets say 4 different days und have the avg calculated for exactly that days that are selected:

Day1: 100 pcs (in 48 intervalls of 30 minutes)

Day2: 150 pcs

Day3: 200 pcs

Day4: 100 pcs

--> (100+150+200+100)/(4*48) = 2,86 items per 30minutes

Is it even possible to reference the "currently selected items" in the calculation script?

Best regards

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 12:18 PM

Answers

• Hi,

in cube calculation script define calculated member such as

CREATE MEMBER CURRENTCUBE.[Measures].[AvgValue]
     AS [Measures].[YourSumMeasure]/Count(Existing([Date].[Calendar].[Date].Members)*48), 
    VISIBLE = 1  ; 
    and don't forget about divide by zero. In this case your result will be calculated for selected days only

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 2:46 PM
  • Unfortunately, I can't answer all your questions. 

1. Regard to Excel, you can use "Convert to formula" on Analysis tab in Excel (but i am not sure about menu item name, because I haven't got the English Interface). After converting you will see correct count. (All the same Date dimension should be in filter area).

2. You can create in cube calculation script the hidden dynamic set, e.g. for AdventureWorks:

CREATE HIDDEN DYNAMIC SET [Days_1]
    AS [Date].[Calendar].[Date].Members;

And then calculated member:

CREATE MEMBER CURRENTCUBE.[Measures].[CountOfDays_1]