none
Do you need to convert OpenXML to PDF, XPS or DOC? RRS feed

• Question

• I have searched this forum and found there are several requests about how to convert OpenXML documents to PDF, XPS and DOC. Some of the replies suggest using third party libraries, such as Aspose.Words. But these replies also often mention that these components are expensive.

Here is the bit, I am a project manager of Aspose.Words and I would like to see how we can serve the needs of the OpenXML Format SDK users to convert DOCX to PDF, XPS and DOC.

Aspose.Words for .NET is a document processing library that offers features in four areas: conversion, programming, reporting and rendering. It is an established, feature rich and reliable product and yes, it is priced accordingly, it starts from $899.

What I am thinking of doing is making a special version of our product Aspose.Words for OpenXML Format SDK that will be cut down to only support features that the OpenXML SDK users most often require. At this stage it looks like you need conversion of DOCX to PDF, XPS and DOC. These all are supported in Aspose.Words. What do you think about such a product and how much do you think it should cost not to be labeled as "too expensive"? 

Regards,
    Roman Korchagin

Thursday, August 20, 2009 10:53 AM

All replies

• This would be quite useful.  I think $250-$350 would be reasonable.
    Tuesday, August 25, 2009 6:28 PM
  • I think $899 is very affordable, even for small companies. It may be a problem for non-commercial company's, schools and foundations.

With the Open XML Format SDK, creating and manipulation documents has now become pretty easy. I don't expect anyone to feel the need for an even easier tool to assist in those tasks. However, creating file types other than docx is very much needed:
    - DOC: for companies who haven't made (and don't (yet) want to) the switch to Office 2007 as their main document editor