VSTO - Excel Add-In and Custom Forms RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have very little knowledge of VSTO and Forms, and unfortunately I have a project that requires both.  I'm a novice programmer at best, and haven't programmed in over a year, so I forget alot of simple things that I just can't figure out.

I need to develop an Add-In for Excel 03 & 07 that creates a new Menu Item with a button. The button will launch a custom Form that take in some numbers (from TextBoxes, not from the sheet), does some calculations, and spits the results into the Excel spreadsheet. Can I use C#? Or does this have to be done in VB?

So far I have the Menu Item added with a button (Add-Ins->"My Menu"-> "Do Stuff"). When I click the button I can pop-up a dialog box, but thats about it. (in C# btw)

I need some help on the Form. How do I even add the Form to my project (I can design it once its there)? How do I "launch" the Form when I click my button? Hopefully I can handle the data management (taking in data from TextBoxes and doing some calculation), but I can't even get to that point yet.

I know this is all really simple stuff, and once I break a few barriers I think I can get by, but I'm missing alot of basics. No tutorial that I've found starts from the ground up - they all assume you have some prior knowledge of either VSTO or Forms.

Thanks for your time,
    Shaun.
    Saturday, November 21, 2009 1:50 AM

Answers

• Hi Shaun!

Incorporating forms (Windows Forms) into your addin is as simple as adding a Windows Forms class into your project.
    In the Solution Explorer, right-click on your project, and choose Add > Windows Form... .

In your Windows Form class, add your textboxes and expose the properties that will correspond to the user's input in those textboxes:

public partial class TextWindow : System.Windows.Forms.Form
    {
        public string TextContent 
        {
            get
            {
                return textBox1.Text;
            }
        }
    }