none
Filtering data in a binding source problem RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to coding, but I am having a good time learning. I hit a road block here and hoping that someone can help.

I am using C# Express.

I have an access database that is used by a third party program, so this database structure should not be not be changed. All I am wanting to do is pull info off of three tables into list boxes (I have already accomplished this.) and use the selected items in each listbox to filter a fourth table and return a single value from this table to a textbox or label. When I try to filter the information in the fourth table I get an exception "Syntax error: Missing operand after '4' operator.".  This "4" is part of the Serial Number Prefix data "4NZ" that I want to filter in table four. Below is the code I used:

this.z_final_totalsBindingSource.Filter = "strSNPrefix = ''" + serialPrefixListBox.SelectedValue;

If I take out the single quotes after "strSNPrefix =" then it throws this exception:

"Syntax error: Missing operand after 'NZ' operator."

I do not understand why it is separating the 4NZ value from the listbox.

I have looked through other post and all it seems my situation is more unique than others. Maybe not. I am just having trouble relating other peoples situations to mine.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Monday, December 31, 2007 6:28 PM

Answers

• The value needs to be surrounded by single quotes. Try this code instead:

Code Block
    this.z_final_totalsBindingSource.Filter = String.Format("strSNPrefix = '{0}'", serialPrefixListBox.SelectedValue);

Monday, December 31, 2007 8:34 PM

All replies

• The value needs to be surrounded by single quotes. Try this code instead:

Code Block
    this.z_final_totalsBindingSource.Filter = String.Format("strSNPrefix = '{0}'", serialPrefixListBox.SelectedValue);

Monday, December 31, 2007 8:34 PM
  • I appreciate your help