Start timer when page has loaded. RRS feed

• Question

• User-1317932780 posted

I am very new to Javascript and have never used jQuery but I think jQuery may be able to help with my problem some how.

I want to start a timer when my page loads. So after researching it looks like I could simply do the following:

<body onload="starttimer();">

However in my ASP.NET application I am using master pages so the <body> tag is defined in my master page not in the .aspx file for the page I want to start my timer in. Given that I must find another way to start the timer. Any ideas?

Wednesday, May 4, 2011 12:37 PM

Answers

• User-1828494216 posted

Hi,

using simple javascript...

<script type="text/javascript">
        window.onload = function StartTimer() {
            //your timer starting code
        }
    </script>

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, May 4, 2011 12:57 PM

All replies

• User1618479829 posted

You can put <body onload="starttimer();"> in Master page ... it will work..

there is no master/child page concept once it is rendered by th browser.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011 12:52 PM
  • User-1828494216 posted

Hi,

using simple javascript...

window.onload = function StartTimer() {
            //your timer starting code
        }
    </script>

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, May 4, 2011 12:57 PM
  • User-1317932780 posted

shelly, sorry i didn't specify but I don't want to start the timer for every page that inherits from that master page just one specific page.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011 2:22 PM
  • User-1317932780 posted

mitja, your solution seems to work but if you don't mind could you explain what makes that work.

I mean i know "window.onload" is a pointer to a method that gets fired once the window is loaded but I dont know how the javascript that assigned the method pointer to the onload property gets called.